Al-Jahith Treasury

Al-Jahith Treasury / Khazanat Al- Jahith / خزانة الجاحظ is one of my most admired places in Amman, imagine your self isolated inside a beduin tent far a way  from all of the city’s headaches between tons and tons of used and rare books! This is heaven for me!

Hamzeh the shop owner

With a warm cup of tea and Arabian smile; Hamzeh Al-Maaitah welcomes you in his exotic shop next to the Roman Nymphaeum in Quraish street, Hamzeh inherited this treasure from his grandfather who opened the first bookshop in Jerusalem in 1922.

The bookshop was named after Al-Jahith, a 9th century Arab writer and libraries obsessed!  The rumours says that he died when a large piles of books fell on him causing his death!

Hamzeh has started many initiatives to encourage people to read, he is targeting young ages and schools to let them know more about our Arab legacy and culture.

I leave you with photos of the shop taken by me:

 

And here is my logotype that I crafted for Al-Jahith Treasury few years ago:

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 2.54.50 PM.png

4 Comments

  1. Hi Apri, yeah, of course.. you can write whatever you want here, or you can visit him in Amman 🙂

  2. I can’t get to Amman. 🙂 I live in the USA. I am a writer and a poet and a very big reader.

Leave a comment